AGM Of The Mayo Male Voice Choir

The 17th Annual General Meeting of the Mayo Male Voice Choir took place last week in the Parish Centre, Castlebar.

After a one minute silence for deceased members the Chairman Jim Tiernan welcomed members and reflected on a very successful year that culminated with three performances in the recent Mayo International Choral Festival. Achieving the runners-up prize in the Male Voice Section of the festival was a fitting conclusion and reward for the effort expended during the year. The secretary Frank Larkin outlined in detail all of the year’s activities while the treasurer Jimmy Murphy presented a healthy balance sheet once again.

A special word of thanks was extended to Fr. Frank Fahey for granting permission for the use of Ballintubber Abbey for the annual concert.

Much debate focused on the prospects of a foreign tour in 2018; the need to form closer alliances with other art groups in order to collectively pursue the objective of securing a Mayo Academy of Performing Arts. The need for new members was also addressed and it’s hoped that when rehearsals resume in September more first tenors in particular will present themselves.

The musical director Deirdre Lee was thanked for her professionalism, dedication and endless patience during the year. Her passion for her role is infectious and everyone benefited from her knowledge and love of music.

Choir member and Festival Director, Declan Durcan, thanked the Mayo Male Voice Choir, not only for taking part in the festival, but for all the assistance that practically each individual member gave in the run-up and on the weekend of the Mayo International Choral Festival, from ushering, to setting up tiers, to helping with venues etc. etc – stating that the help the festival gets from the Mayo Male Voice choir is invaluable.

The following officers and committee members were elected for the 2017/18 year:

  • President: John Finlay
  • Chairman: Jim Tiernan
  • Vice Chairman: Sean Gavin
  • Secretary: Frank Larkin.
  • Assistant Secretary: Jackie Clarke.
  • Treasurer: Jimmy Murphy.
  • Assistant Treasurer: David Loring.
  • Web Administrator: David Loring.
  • Librarian: Tony Conway.
  • Assistant Librarian: Stephen Brady & Deirdre Lee.
  • Public Relations Officer: Martin Carney.
  • Musical Director: Deirdre Lee.
  • MAPA Rep: Colin Kneafsey.
  • Joe Nestor.
  • Tony NcNulty.
This entry was posted in AGM, Commitee, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.